Be thankful for the little gifts of life

IMG_20150817_084542“The most significant gifts are the ones most easily overlooked. Small, everyday blessings; Health, music, laughter, memories, books, family, friends, second chances and all the foot prints scattered throughout our days”~Sue Monk Kidd

Everyday we breathe is a blessing, the food we eat, the water we drink, the air we breath, maybe we cheated death, or we had an opportunity to make it right with a loved one we fell out with, these are all blessings.

Let me illustrate with a personal experience. On the 12th of last December,  I had a terrible accident. The bike I was on got hit by an on coming vehicle due to the fact that the refuse dump on the side of the road was being burnt for whatever reason and the road was covered with smoke, it was also raining a little bit, so we couldn’t see anything on the road. The man riding the bike died on the spot and I survived with wounds which has left little scars on my body, none of my bones were broken, which is a complete miracle. Till this day am still shocked by that accident, I still ask my self why God saved my life because people who were at the scene of that accident marvelled at the fact that I survived.

After that accident, I started appreciating life and the little things of life which I overlooked before. I became appreciative of God’s grace upon my life, the love of my family and friends. God gave me a second chance.

You have to put down for a moment your personal baggage of problems, your past and just live life, enjoy the laughter of people around you, cherish the good memories, listen to music, enjoy watching the birds sing, do the good things that makes you happy.

I have learnt a lesson and that is not to take each day for granted.

One thought on “Be thankful for the little gifts of life

  1. Pingback: Be thankful for the little gifts of life | motivatedbyqueensy

Leave a Reply

