Dealing with disappointments

IMG_20150815_214014

“Drag your thoughts away from your troubles, by the ears,  by the heels or any other way you can manage it”. ~Mark Twain

Disappointments can lend a blow to our self esteem and make us ask a lot of questions. Why me?, why now?, what did I do wrong?, may be if I had done things differently then everything would have turned out fine.

Disappointments can take different forms,  our spouses did something unimaginable to us, our friends weren’t there for us when we needed them most, our job application got rejected. To mention but a few.

I actually cried for two days after I learnt that I didn’t get a particular job I really wanted. You know why I was so hurt?, it’s because I placed all my hope on that job, my expectations were very high. Am going to tell you how I have learnt to deal with disappointments.

  • To deal with disappointments we have to really accept that it happened, yes we are hurting so bad but we need to know that what happened has happened.
  • We tend to think too much when we are alone and are likely to keep brooding about it, what to do is try and spend some time with friends or family, talk about it with someone and let out your feelings. You are going to feel a lot better after that.
  • During the time I was crying about that job and refusing to accept the fact that I didn’t get it, do you know what someone said to me; he said, what if you got this job and died within months of doing this job, God has a way of doing things. Maybe he doesn’t want you to have this job because it is not for you. Stop crying and keep applying, one day he will give you your job. This advice actually applies to whatever disappointment we encounter,  try to look at it from a different perspective.
  • Think of the good things that have happened in your life and appreciate God for them, you know the saying that “if you appreciate God for what he’s been doing for you, he will do more”.
Leave a Reply

